Yesterday, we’ve been surprised when we got this message from Facebook:
Warnings › I was blocked or disabled
I have been blocked from using a feature.
Facebook has policies to stop behavior that other users may find annoying or abusive. Even if you did not have this intention, Facebook systems have determined that you were repeatedly using the same feature in a short period of time. Since you did not adhere to previous warnings, a temporary block was set on your account. Here’s what you should keep in mind about your block:
- This temporary block will last anywhere from a few hours to a few days.
- Attempting to use this feature while you are blocked can extend the block.
- We cannot lift this block for any reason, so please be patient and refrain from using this feature for a few days while waiting for this block to be removed.
- Once you are allowed to use this feature again, you must significantly slow down or stop this behavior. Further misuse of site features may result in more blocks or your account being permanently disabled.
Unfortunately, Facebook cannot provide any specifics on the rate limits that are enforced. The threshold at which you are warned is not a specific number, but rather determined by different factors, such as speed, time, and quantity.
Impossible for us, after that, to post anything on our page. Even when we commented on fans’ wall posts, the wall post would be removed by Facebook. First, we thought of a “censorship”, but after investigating, we found out that, to release themselves from having to monitor pages they consider as spam means, such as “I❤ Sleep” or “I❤ Mum” that get 5 million fans in a couple of days, Facebook has set new terms and conditions:
Special Provisions Applicable to Pages
- Pages are special profiles that may only be used to promote a business or other commercial, political, or charitable organization or endeavor (including non-profit organizations, political campaigns, bands, and celebrities).
- You may only administer a Facebook Page if you are an authorized representative of the subject of the Page.
- Pages can only post content and information under the “everyone” setting.
- When you publish content or information to your Page we have no obligation to distribute your content or information to users.
- If you use a Fan Box widget off of our site to promote your Page, others will be able to copy and place the widget elsewhere.
- You may not place a Fan Box widget in an advertisement.
- If you collect user information on your Page, Section 9 of this Statement also applies to you.
- If you display advertising on your Page, Section 11 of this Statement also applies to you.
- You may not establish terms beyond those set forth in this Statement to govern the posting of content by users on a Page you administer, except you may disclose they types of content you will remove from your Page and grounds for which you may ban a user from accessing the Page.
- You will restrict access to your Page in order to comply with all applicable laws. For example, if your Page includes content not suitable for minors, you will use your Page to block minors from accessing your Page.
As explained here by a blogger, fan pages are no longer “Fan pages” they are “Brand pages”. And only the official owners of the brand can use those pages. Hence if you’re not an official brand/political figure/spokesperson or so, and if your page gets too many fans in a short period of time, Facebook removes your publishing rights and turn your page to a “Community page”, belonging to the fans.
Honestly, we don’t really know if we’ll be able to reply to the wall posts anytime soon, but there is no doubt that the page shall be maintained for the publicity it brings to the movement. We encourage you to join us on Twitter as well, and interact with us by any possible mean. We have to keep the bond!